View Full Version : Live or Memorex... Real or Market in UAE?
Revlis
February 15th, 2008, 19:27
I'm throwing my two cents in and saying they are both fakes. I look at the shoddy bracelet and that is what got me thinking.
Anyhoo, photo's forth coming. These aren't mine but I am concerned cause I believe the owner probably thinks them to be legit. But what I find after about 5 minutes of reading on the web is that the Navitimer with a visible tourbillon as shown in the photos doesn't exist, the crystals aren't anti-glare, and of course the case backs both appear to me after some small amount of reading to be fake... Not to mention the "turbine" back appears to have it's "Stainless" rubbing off... Which is odd behavior for stainless steel. :think:
So Experts? What do you think?
I'm new here, I love well engineered watches, and heck I enjoy the entertaining ones as well.
Cheers.
EJC
February 15th, 2008, 20:06
Both Fakes.
You're spot on with the Tourbillion. The only Breitling with one is ~$50K.
The other one the dead give-a-way is the Turbine (B-1) Back, on a watch that is not a B-1
Revlis
February 15th, 2008, 20:30
Yeah, I figured as much. I am far from a watch expert, but I absolutely love fine timepieces and spend much of my time daydreaming about Rolex, Breitling, Zenith, Patek Phillippe, BRM, and lately Urwerk has become an obsession...
Mostly a groupie though, most of the timepieces I find truly fascinating are in the $50-250K price range and silly me I can always find a little something else to do with a stack of cash that high.
Regardless, I came across stacks of fake Rolex watches while in the mid-east, worst sort of quality but still highly entertaining seeing these monster "Solid Gold" watches on the wrists of Privates, and Airmen. It was a bit of a running joke. However, in this case I am not sure that the owner is aware that they are NOT genuine and it leaves me in a odd position, do I tell em' or not. I don't believe he is trying to sell them but it is clear he believes them to be genuine... Could be bad for him.
Anyway I look forward to hanging out and learning more...
Cheers.
Broker
February 15th, 2008, 20:40
What makes you think he doesn't know? Just curious.
Todd
Revlis
February 15th, 2008, 20:59
What makes you think he doesn't know? Just curious.
Todd
Well we are chatting about loving watches over at the Hayabusa forum. It's a sportbike forum and while he may just assume that everyone on the forum is an ignorant plebe, I would think if he even suspected that his watches were fakes that he wouldn't have posted such clearly damning photos, and would have instead posted up some more general zoomed out shots.
It's a "I love Watches (http://www.hayabusa.org/forums/?act=ST;f=12;t=89109;st=0)" thread and for the most part it's a bunch of G-shock, Eco-Drive, Guess, etc. love... No pretense just cool/interesting day to day type watches. So yeah in one post he says "I have two Breitlings" and then the next day he posts the photo's you saw above. Seems counter intuitive to me. So it's possible he's just messing around, curious if anyone will figure it out. OR he's just not very bright and is convinced nobody has ever seen or handled a fine watch, OR he simply doesn't know and could be up for some real embarrassment at some point. :-s
Revlis
February 18th, 2008, 00:40
Well Looks like "Breitling Lover" felt obligated to head over to the Hayabusa forum and break the news to him... Interesting.
Broker
February 19th, 2008, 22:32
Elliot. b-)
Todd
EJC
February 19th, 2008, 22:37
Elliot. b-)
Todd
they have a real nice bunch of guys over there.
It was a fun converstation. Like those RGM watches, not familiar with the brand though
maybe I will take after my hero "Eric Von Zipper"
Revlis
February 26th, 2008, 20:48
they have a real nice bunch of guys over there.
It was a fun converstation. Like those RGM watches, not familiar with the brand though
maybe I will take after my hero "Eric Von Zipper"
Yeah, I'm just glad that he knew... Though I find him posting up without stating that they are bogus sort of.... I dunno, shady.
Cheers... |>
EJC
February 26th, 2008, 21:27
Yeah, I'm just glad that he knew... Though I find him posting up without stating that they are bogus sort of.... I dunno, shady.
Cheers... |>
He knows so it's done.
Now back to Eric Von Zipper
(borrowed from beachpartymusic.com)
http://www.beachpartymoviemusic.com/images/Img236.jpg