PDA

View Full Version : Major auction house selling fake?


Wytnucls
October 14th, 2008, 22:47
Check this auction in Germany.
I have bought from them before and I don't think they would knowingly sell a fake. Webauktion24 (http://cgi.ebay.de/OMEGA-SEAMASTER-CHRONOGRAPH-VON-1969-WIE-UNGETRAGEN_W0QQitemZ270287169505QQcmdZViewItem?has h=item270287169505&_trkparms=39%3A1%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A10%7C240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14)
What do you think?
The movement looks like a 27 CHRO T1, except it doesn't have the column wheel, but a cam instead!

http://www.webauktion24.com/BilderAuktionen/2008/09/MB/20080930_seamaster/2.jpg

http://www.webauktion24.com/BilderAuktionen/2008/09/MB/20080930_seamaster/9.jpg

Fatpants
October 14th, 2008, 22:54
That looks awful. Even if it were real, it looks like junk, imo.

Wytnucls
October 14th, 2008, 22:57
Yes, NOS 1969. Little chance of that!
Is that a chinese clone of the 27 CHRO? I wouldn't put it past them...
That bezel is a dead give-away!

watch-man7777
October 14th, 2008, 23:17
Gosh that's a very spartan looking movement. Who is the seller... are they an eBay only business? Never heard of them.

Joe K.
October 14th, 2008, 23:20
Never seen one like that.... Also - should have a column wheel and not the cam. Good catch.

I don't think they would knowingly sell a fake, but mistakes have been known to happen...:-x:-x (can you say "Omegamania lot 128")




Check this auction in Germany.
I have bought from them before and I don't think they would knowingly sell a fake. Webauktion24 (http://cgi.ebay.de/OMEGA-SEAMASTER-CHRONOGRAPH-VON-1969-WIE-UNGETRAGEN_W0QQitemZ270287169505QQcmdZViewItem?has h=item270287169505&_trkparms=39%3A1%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A10%7C240%3A1318&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14)
What do you think?
The movement looks like a 27 CHRO T1, except it doesn't have the column wheel, but a cam instead!

http://www.webauktion24.com/BilderAuktionen/2008/09/MB/20080930_seamaster/9.jpg

Wytnucls
October 14th, 2008, 23:22
They want €3,300.00 for this junk!
Wrote to them, let's see what happens.

Mail bounced!

Wytnucls
October 14th, 2008, 23:27
Well known in Germany. Based in Hamburg

This is the kind of stuff they sell today:

1901 Union Glashutte €180,000.00

http://www.webauktion24.com/BilderAuktionen/2006/10/FD/tu_1_191006/3.jpg

watch-man7777
October 14th, 2008, 23:41
Very very interesting. I was watching a tv show on a car Christie's was pushing very hard as an original Auto Union type C/D used in winning the French Grand Prix. This car had an opening price of something like $10m. After several collectors questioned the car as being THE one to win the race, Christie's took it down on the day of the auction for further evaluation. So I suppose it happens, even to the big guys.

Wytnucls
October 14th, 2008, 23:53
They have their own experts, but it is more 'cost-effective' to let it through to the auction floor when they're not 100% sure, in the hope no one will notice.
It is just the same in the art world. Money is all that matters...

JimH
October 15th, 2008, 00:08
For what it's worth the movement here appears to be a Lemania 1280.

Wytnucls
October 15th, 2008, 00:15
Well spotted Jim, I think you're right. Here it is:
How it ended up in this 'Omega', would be hard to explain!
What is it worth?

http://www.farfo.com/images/wakmann_chronograph_breitling_321_movement.jpg

hiro1963
October 15th, 2008, 00:20
This Tissot has the same movement.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Rare-Military-Tissot-Chronograph-3-Reg-Cal-Lemania-1280_W0QQitemZ260269956374QQcmdZViewItem?_trksid=p 3286.m20.l1116

- Hiro

Tuff Gong
October 15th, 2008, 01:07
Auto Union type C/D

Auto Union...:drool:

BOT, tis a shame about that auction. Hopefully, they'll do the right thing and take it down thanks to your message:think:

Anthony
October 17th, 2008, 06:20
Speaking of fakes, is this fake?? 230299834045 (ebay)

watchking1
October 17th, 2008, 08:46
Real