PDA

View Full Version : Real or Fake?


B6.75
January 19th, 2007, 02:48
I would like to thank you all for this wonderful forum. Can any one be kind enough to confirm if these two listing are authentics? Many thanks.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=160074853062&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=006

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=230079471467&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=013

karmatooburn
January 19th, 2007, 02:56
Hello,
It is difficult to really see anything from these photos. I would msg the seller(s) and request better/closer pics and then share them with the board. I always find it odd that someone would be selling something that cost so much or is worth so much and they can not photograph it.

SnapIT
January 19th, 2007, 03:14
Hello B6.75

Welcome to our forum.

This is typical, they have a 5-7k watch for sale but can't take a clean shot so the buyer can see the details. Why bother? There are plenty of real fish in the sea. Look else where.

B6.75
January 19th, 2007, 03:19
Hello,
It is difficult to really see anything from these photos. I would msg the seller(s) and request better/closer pics and then share them with the board. I always find it odd that someone would be selling something that cost so much or is worth so much and they can not photograph it.

Thanks for the quick replied, emailed the sellers but no response. Just curious but I haven't seen a B4B Motors with a 5-spokes wheel backing yet. I am learning something new everyday.

EJC
January 19th, 2007, 04:33
Thanks for the quick replied, emailed the sellers but no response. Just curious but I haven't seen a B4B Motors with a 5-spokes wheel backing yet. I am learning something new everyday.

Why the hell would anyone bid on a watch where they can't see any details. On top of that I always distrust an auction for an expensive watch, or anything, where there is a very low start and NO RESERVE. Would anyone in his right mind list a $5-7K watch without the protection of a reserve price?

Timur
January 19th, 2007, 09:19
Does the Bentley come with that box ? I thought it was a different box.

botudi
January 19th, 2007, 10:22
Does the Bentley come with that box ? I thought it was a different box.

yes, the box is ok but what troubles me (beside the lack of decent pictures, wich would make me look away from this in the first palce) at the first link is the crown. Looks very funny to me (not because is unscrewed)
I wouldn't buy a watch without papers like the one in the the second link even if it was genuine .

Mushroom
January 19th, 2007, 10:51
I would be very cautious about buying this watch. See what the front page from Breitlings web page has to say about buying off the net.
To me it smells fishey. <|

breitlingfan
January 19th, 2007, 18:33
My opinion: Both those watches are fake.

1. The boxes are wrong for both. Breitling for Bentley boxes should be black, and say Breitling for Bentley on them, not yellow. The Bakelite box should also say Breitling for Bentley rather than have the wings logo.
2. The Bentley wheel design only exists on the Bentley 6.75 as it reflects the spokes on the corresponding Bentley Car.
3. On the first watch at least, the totalizers are not spaced out correctly. I can't really tell on the second one.

hardee17
January 19th, 2007, 23:00
1st is fake.

2nd is genuine.

botudi
January 20th, 2007, 00:09
Breitling for Bentley boxes should be black, not yellow

if you buy from a web site you have a good chance to get the yellow outcase...but your point about the logo is right...the crown was the mark of fake for me

1st is fake.

2nd is genuine.

this is what i think also but the missing papers on the second are a big turn off (again beside the poor quality pics) :-)

tonym
January 27th, 2007, 10:40
I dont know about the watches I dont believe you could tell from the photos as there are some awfully good replicas around but if you look at his feedback there is not a lot of mention about watches mostly sells tickets I think. I would not buy a item at that price unless I knew the seller very well