View Full Version : Can anyone verify this watch ?
USNA92
February 11th, 2006, 22:43
All,
I welcome any feedback on this ebay listing. I am unaware of this special series (and may be opening myself to competition). This watch is very intriguing if I can verify its authenticity. Please feel free to email me directly at lshoemaker@cox.net. Also, if authentic, any information on its actual value would be helpful.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Breitling-Navitimer-Fighters-Special-Series_W0QQitemZ8902136214QQcategoryZ31387QQrdZ1QQ cmdZViewItem
Thank you
Simon
February 11th, 2006, 23:12
Compare closely this seller's pictures and write up with this Uk watch dealer's:
http://www.chronomaster.co.uk/breitling.htm
kr4mula
February 11th, 2006, 23:15
All,
I welcome any feedback on this ebay listing. I am unaware of this special series (and may be opening myself to competition). This watch is very intriguing if I can verify its authenticity. Please feel free to email me directly at lshoemaker@cox.net. Also, if authentic, any information on its actual value would be helpful.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Breitling-Navitimer-Fighters-Special-Series_W0QQitemZ8902136214QQcategoryZ31387QQrdZ1QQ cmdZViewItem
Thank you
The watch looks real enough in the pics, but what raises my eyebrows is that the picture with the box and paperwork are for a different watch (a Super Avenger)! The pic of that watch isn't the same one for sale and the instruction booklet isn't for the Nav fighters, either. Maybe a simple mistake by someone selling multiple watches, but seems kind of sketchy to me.
Also, the maxim of "buy the seller seems to apply." He doesn't seem to have sold any watches before, so I'd try to get this discrepancy cleared up before bidding. Also, verify that the serial number of the watch in the pic is actually the one for sale, then google it to see if it's popped up before. Fakes tend to recycle the same numbers.
If I were pessimistic, I'd think he doesn't have a watch for sale at all, but borrowed the pcis from somewhere else, so be careful.
Cheers,
Kevin
Bob Sendel
February 12th, 2006, 00:35
Perhaps this is just a mix up with the seller's watch pictures. I would question the seller about it and see how he replies. PLease let us know how he responds.
googoo
February 12th, 2006, 00:48
i doubt it. his auctions and purchases have all been book/audiobook related.
kr4mula
February 12th, 2006, 01:51
i doubt it. his auctions and purchases have all been book/audiobook related.
Oh, after reading Simon's post (he beat me by 1 minute), it seems that the pics were indeed pilfered from that other site. Photos stolen from someone else's sale and mixed up after that, plus the fact that the guy's sold cheap books, suggests you stay away.
Cheers,
Kevin
googoo
February 12th, 2006, 02:30
well, his ebay id may have been spoofed, though.
USNA92
February 18th, 2006, 08:09
Compare closely this seller's pictures and write up with this Uk watch dealer's:
http://www.chronomaster.co.uk/breitling.htm
Thank you to all of you who have responded. Excellent insight. Simon nailed it with this link. Don't know if the seller's original sale was crushed by someone but he's reposted.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=8904938431&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT
Thank you.
bcollan
February 18th, 2006, 19:53
Noone mentioned reporting this to Ebay, so I did. ;-)
Looks to be clearly a case of pilferered pics!
cheers,
Bill