Curious about this Vostok

Thread: Curious about this Vostok

Curious about this Vostok

Greetings all!

I picked up this Vostok at a flea market a few months ago. Seller thought it was a quartz watch and wanted ten bucks for it. I gave him a line about how hard it would be to find a battery for a foreign watch and talked him down to five. He wasn't too happy when I wound it up and it worked perfectly. The watch was on a plastic camouflage strap when I got it, which I swapped for this brown leather band.

I've been interested in Russian watches for a while and this one was a lucky find. I know it was (or seems to be) manufactured before the end of the Soviet Union, due to the "3AKA3" and "MOCCCP" markings on the face. It appears to be a 17 jewel Komandarskie. I just wanted to see if anybody could tell me any more info about this watch, especially an approximate manufacture date.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Curious about this Vostok

Hi. Though I'm not an expert, and I just started to appreciate vostok watches too. Your piece seemed peculiar. The "MOCCCP" is usually printed with a gap in between. And it looked like the caseback is a one-piece caseback, which vostok uses the opposite, a 2-piece caseback. And the lume is a bit too greenish. But whatever, a $5 mechanical watch is a very good buy.

I agree with GenkiSushi. Look at the picture below of an authentic one. Hands are too skinny, it's a different tank picture, and crown is too small. Is it a screw-in crown? Interesting watch, though, for $5.
    Attached Images Attached Images

The biggest error is the misspelling!
    Which one? No cyrillics at hand, so one types Kamhen and not Камней !!!
    I'd just say one word: CHINA

As a further clue for China, the typically too small crown, and lastly the movement if we could see it.
    Last edited by emoscambio; September 13th, 2012 at 09:39.