Thread: how to use a Komandirskie

Question how to use a Komandirskie

Folks,

Total newbie here. I've been hooked on Russian watches now for a few weeks and finally, my very first Komandirskie, from 1993 has arrived. Now all I need to do is choose a strap and set the time!
    Edit: I should have mentioned it is a 17 jewel mechanism (2414A?).
    You all must be tired of being asked how to wind the watch and set the time/date...but I would really like to know. This is my first watch since my Tissot Autoquartz from 2000. So, 9 years later, I'm on a slippery slope of timepieces from Russia. Last year it was fountain pens!

So, I unscrew the crown and it is wobbly as I've read elsewhere.
    I gently pull on it as I wind the crown clockwise and it winds. But does it stop? is there a possibility of overwinding and thus breaking it? I would hate to do that.
    Pulling the crown further allows me to set the time. Is this correct? And the date? I have read elsewhere I just have to keep winding until I reach the right date. Will the date change in both the forwards direction as well as the backwards directions if I need to set the date to an earlier day?

I'd really appreciate this lesson for beginners...a link to other posts is fine. I'll post pics as soon as I get a strap.

cheers,
    Milo
    Last edited by milotime; March 4th, 2009 at 22:57. Reason: added info about mechanism

AID

Re: how to use a Komandirskie

1. Wind the spring until it's tight, however go slowly because if you push really hard you may brake the spring. It's not that fragile, I just want to make sure you get use to manual wind watch. In a couple of days you'll be able to wind them much faster once you get a "feel" of it.

2. Pulling crown allows you to set time and date. Date has a "Russian quick set". If you go past 12 and date chances, go back to 9 and back to 12 again, it will change to the next date. Much faster than going rounds around the dial.