Like Tree6Likes

Thread: When is my SERKISOF pocket watch, manufactured?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

When is my SERKISOF pocket watch, manufactured?

Hi all, pocket watches is a new thing for me and I have a question:
    When is my SERKISOF pocket watch, manufactured?

/Anders

Name:  IMG_20121023_113334.jpg
Views: 2307
Size:  510.9 KBName:  IMG_20121023_113354.jpg
Views: 1720
Size:  576.4 KBName:  IMG_20121023_113459.jpg
Views: 1513
Size:  587.8 KBName:  IMG_20121023_113611.jpg
Views: 1671
Size:  539.8 KBName:  IMG_20121023_113722.jpg
Views: 1428
Size:  457.8 KB

phd

Re: When is my SERKISOF pocket watch, manufactured?

I'm not an expert on that movement, but it looks like a Molnija movement to me.

Cheers,
    Paul
    The only thing that saves us from the bureaucracy is its inefficiency - McCarthy

I would guess '80s to early '90s. It's a soviet-era but the movement lacks the markings of the really early ones.

Yes, as Paul replied, this is a Soviet Molniya watch in all but the branding.

Serkisof was an Istanbul-based jeweler and importer of Soviet watches for the Turkish market -not just this beautiful railroad (Demiryolu) Molniya but many other Soviet makes - the Turko-soviet equivalent of Sekonda, Cornavin,etc. As for the period, I don't know much about Molniyas, but I would think 1970-80s (??? - I'm sure others could be more specific).

On a side note, a laudable tradition of railroad watches seems to have existed in Turkey: excellent wrist (often late 1950s to 1970s Corteberts and Atomiks) and pocket watches (usually Molniya-Serkisof) bearing the winged wheel of the Turkish State Railroads, possibly gifted to Turkish Railroad workers on retirement, or on completion of so many years of service... I ignore the details, but perhaps Turkish members of this forum could enlighten us...

Anyway, a really beautiful watch!

H.

There was one on Munich's flea market last Friday.