Help with vintage Roamer

Thread: Help with vintage Roamer

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Help with vintage Roamer

Hi there,

I was wondering if anyone could give me some help with a vintage Roamer I just bought from ebay. It was advertised as dating from the 1930's and looks fairly art deco, but as a complete beginner I don't know if this is true or not.

The number on the back says 2384 and on the sides are the letters GDR, and 20 on the opposite side. The picture might not show this but it's 17 jewels and the face says 'anti magnetic'.

I've attached some pictures but my camera's not great so it's hard to pick out the details. It keeps good time, but needs a really good clean up. The glass is quite scratched and a bit green around the edges, and the face is dirty and mottled. The case is also very discoloured.

I bought it for about 17. I'm not asking for a valuation, but do you think it was worth it?

Also, how would I start to find a good watch repairer?
    Sorry for all the questions, I really am a beginner but am trying to learn as I go!
    Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images    

Moderator Emeritus Ray MacDonald's Avatar

Re: Help with vintage Roamer

I'd say it's from the 1950s. It'll cost probably 3-4 times what you paid for it to service and restore it. It's worth it if you really like it or if it's a family heirloom. Otherwise no.
    There should be plenty of watch repair shops in the London area. Just look for one that does repairs on the premises and isn't just a place to get a quartz battery changed. Perhaps some of our UK members can suggest a good one.
    Last edited by Ray MacDonald; September 21st, 2009 at 18:30.

There are fathers who do not love their children; there is no grandfather who does not adore his grandson. ~ Victor Hugo