Thread: Help with watch identity.

Help with watch identity.

Hi there, I'm a newbie from the UK, hope you can help me please. I have just purchased a 'Winegartens Ltd.' 9 karat gold gents wristwatch. I have looked at the movement and it is a 17 jewel 'Winegarten' movement. I am having problems finding out anything about this company, I bought the watch because i liked the look of it, I collect vintage mechanical wristwatches. can anyone help me with finding out some history of this company, and weather 'winegartens' actually made the movement or was is made by another comapny. Any other info about the watch or the company would be much appreciated.
    Thank you
    Steve

Mod. Public/Cafe and MaL Ray MacDonald's Avatar

Re: Help with watch identity.

Sorry we need a photo of the movement itself to tell you anything. Please read our sticky note on watch identification for more details.
    The watch looks to be late 1940s/early 1950s to me. Winegarten is a London jeweler so it's probably a Swiss private label movement.
    Last edited by Ray MacDonald; September 3rd, 2007 at 15:05.

There are fathers who do not love their children; there is no grandfather who does not adore his grandson. ~ Victor Hugo

Quote Originally Posted by Ray MacDonald View Post
    Sorry we need a photo of the movement itself to tell you anything. Please read our sticky note on watch identification for more details.
    The watch looks to be late 1940s/early 1950s to me. Winegarten is a London jeweler so it's probably a Swiss private label movement.
    Hi, yes sorry, here is a photo of the movement.
    on the movement are the numbers 902210, and 'winegartens', also in the bit of the movement that you can't see because of the flash, it says '17 jewel' 'swiss', hope this helps you to help me Thank you

I think I'll leave this one for our European experts although it still looks like a late 1940s, early 1950s watch to me.