WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

Smiths - new crystal advice

949 views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  puchelaar 
#1 ·
Hi - I need a new crystal for my wife's Smiths watch, can anyone advise where/how I might track one down? As you can see it has a crack near the bottom, as shown in the photo.
Does anyone know anything about this brand/watch model? It was given by British Rail as a retirement gift to my wife's grandfather after 45 years service. I understand the Jeweller shown on the presentation box took care of most of these retirement gifts for BR, including the engraving. I've also read that as time went on the quality of the movement was reduced to save cost, although continuing to use the same case. I'm new to watch collecting, so really don't know what I'm looking for in order to assess the quality of a movement. I've attached pics for feedback.
Thanks for your help.
Ian

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Its a 15 jewel so thats a good start, some of the cheaper movements had non or 5, obviously 15 is not as good has a 21 jewel movement. For the crystal you would need to measure the original then order from a supplier just type in google for watch crystals, but to be honest easier for a watch maker to order the part and fit it for you.

#3 ·
Nothing wrong with the movement - its a quality solid gold watch. Nice.

From Information