WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

New model: Colt Skyracer

40K views 100 replies 60 participants last post by  Flip2Grail 
#1 ·
Got an email on this new model today: COLT SKYRACER - Breitling - Instruments for Professionals

Watch Analog watch Black Watch accessory Fashion accessory

Perfect timing as I'm looking for a SQ powered analog. I like the looks, no idea on price though - I emailed my usual provider and they are contacting their Breitling rep. Any thoughts from the group? I'm no Breitling expert, have only owned an Aerospace in the past. Curious about experiences with "Breitlight"? I like the darker, mottled look and supposedly lighter than titanium. How are other Breitlight models holding up? Also interesting to see the measurement scale on the strap, like you could use it as a ruler.

Cheers,
John

See less See more
#37 ·
I asked this question on another thread, am I the only one that finds it weird that they put a dive bezel on a skyracer. I mean wouldn't a 24 hour or a tach on the bezel be more appropriate? Shouldn't the bezel be bi-directional? Just saying it has more of a dive watch look to it and the band would even be a plus for that application. What I also find strange is the WR. Breitling is usually pretty good with their WR. Would hope this new light case would have also provided better WR than 100M.

Like the size, weight, band, look, event the price; WR knocked it off my list.

#42 ·
The concern for me would be that it might prove difficult, or impossible, to deal with any damage to the polymer. I've become quite good at restoring my SS watches (through MUCH practice) when they have little scuffs, scratches and scrapes. And from the pictures people have posted, I'm not sure I like the appearance. But the material in-and-of itself being a "plastic" wouldn't be a deal-breaker. It's not like stainless steel is some kind of precious commodity.

#43 ·