Can I wear my G-Shock/tool with my suit...?

Thread: Can I wear my G-Shock/tool with my suit...?

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
    Down where people say "How's it goin'" and wait for an answer.

Question Can I wear my G-Shock/tool with my suit...?

Namely, to job interviews and career fairs and such.

I've been applying to a lot of jobs since I graduated. When I go on interview, I rock my dressier chrono. It looks sharp with the suit, and it definitely fits better with the ensemble. Here's the thing, though; 99.8% of the people I've interviewed with or spoken with at career fairs (they were also wearing suits) have been wearing some beat-up cheap timex digital, one dude was wearing a G. Half of them don't wear a watch. I've seen a few Rollies (ok, one), but nothing that really caught my eye.

So on to the question: These guys obviously don't have more than one watch, or, if they do, they don't wear their nicer watch often. They're engineers, so obviously they're practical in their choice. I'm wondering if they might notice my nice looking watch and think that I wouldn't want to get my hands dirty or something. Sort of like noticing someone's hands are soft and un-calloused and assuming they've never done a hard day's work.

SO! Should I strap one of my more tool watches when going on interviews for jobs where I'd be doing hands on dirty work? I'd feel like a little bit of a fool wearing my Riseman or Cavedweller in a suit. I'd totally do it, 'cause I love the tool watches, but I'd feel like a bit of a fool.

Example: I have an interview coming up for an R&D position at a company that makes fishfinders. The position involves testing, machining, and prototyping. You know, stuff I wouldn't do in a nice watch. So should I wear one of my tool watches? Should I wear the Mako as sort of a compromise? Or just rock the dressier watch knowing that no one is going to notice and I'm just being stupid?
    Last edited by Bleh; April 28th, 2010 at 15:03.