My findings regarding grey/gray/dark/black lume on watches

Thread: My findings regarding grey/gray/dark/black lume on watches

My findings regarding grey/gray/dark/black lume on watches

Hello all! I am a relative watch newbie, but I just want to share with you all my findings when investigating grey/gray lume. This type of lume has a grey/gray appearance in daylight conditions, but has some lume qualities allowing it to glow when in a dark setting. I had an interesting time trying to learn about grey/gray lume, and I’ve found some things about it that may be helpful to a watch novice. I would like to share this with you all since finding the information proved somewhat difficult.

I realize some WIS experts may already know everything about grey lume, so it’s likely I’m repeating items that some experts may believe to be obvious. However, searching Google.com for “gray watch lume” doesn’t yield many results, so hopefully this thread will become useful to other watch newbies. My findings center around the company Tritec and their Super-Luminova brand of afterglow pigments. I realize there are other manufacturers of lume, but my findings of grey/gray lume are based on the lume produced by Tritec.

It has been suggested to me that I do not mention the history for what is driving my investigation into grey/gray lume. As a result, I will not post any pictures of my watch since doing so would expose the brand name of the watch that I own. And, I will not discuss any end-customer vendors and service providers in this thread as to avoid any conflict of interest where I could be accused of advertising products or services. I do not wish to be banned for discussing grey and black lume. I joined WUS to learn about watches, and I wish to share my findings to others who may wish to learn about grey/gray lume.

--------------------------------------------------

Finding #1: What is grey/gray lume?