Thread: Is it possible to set the time of an atomic watch manually?

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4

    Is it possible to set the time of an atomic watch manually?

    Hi community,

    I'm close to buy an atomic watch. However, where I live there aren't any antennas to synchronize with an atomic clock. So my question is: is it possible to set the time manually? Because if the watch loses the time somehow, it can be very awkward to wait until a trip to set up again!
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    38

    Re: Is it possible to set the time of an atomic watch manually?

    I believe most of them can be manually adjusted. I have 3 citizens and 1 Casio Oceanus, and all of them offer manual adjustment of time & date.

  3. #3
    Member filmjuicer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,432

    Re: Is it possible to set the time of an atomic watch manually?

    What watch are you refering to? Also, where do you live? I pretty sure most atomic watches can be set manually, so I wouldn't worry, but maye you can find the manual and read through it.

    My Casio G-Shock "Riseman" is atomic/solar, and although it gets the signal fine here in Chicago, it can be manually set if needed/desired.
    matt

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1,566

    Re: Is it possible to set the time of an atomic watch manually?

    I think all "atomic" watches have the ability to manually set the time/date/etc..

    My casio waveceptor also has the option to turn the atomic radio receive on/off.
    Turning it off just makes it like any normal quartz watch.

  5. #5
    Member zekio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    856

    Re: Is it possible to set the time of an atomic watch manually?

    i personaly wouldnt call them "atomic watches" as their accuracy is not atomic, but rather radio controlled.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    NW USA
    Posts
    2,872

    Re: Is it possible to set the time of an atomic watch manually?

    Every watch I've looked in to, yes. Maybe you could tell us what model you're thinking of for a more certain answer.

    Quote Originally Posted by zekio View Post
    i personaly wouldnt call them "atomic watches" as their accuracy is not atomic, but rather radio controlled.
    That is also the recommendation of NIST
    "It is easier to discover a deficiency in individuals, in states, and in providence, than to see their real import or value." - HEGEL

    *SBBN019 and SBBN011 shrouded divers*
    The Spring Drive Landmaster SBDB003 -- My Apollo 17 Speedy Pro -- Shout-out to Konrad Damasko!
    Airwolf and Chronomaster hangin' out -- NATO nuts with DC66 and SBDX001 -- Two deadly Sinns

  7. #7
    Member nuovorecord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    1,764

    Re: Is it possible to set the time of an atomic watch manually?

    I've owned or still own a ton of G-Shocks and a Citizen that had atomic clock synchronization capabilities. All of them had the option to set the time manually, both analog and digital models.
    Hotel Clerk: Do you have seventeen dollars and a good watch?
    Del: No I don't. I have uh... two dollars... and a Casio.
    ------------------------------------------------------
    CASIO: MRG-7500BJ, MTG-910DA, MTG-M900BD, MTG-1200B, GW-M5610 | OMEGA: Speedmaster Professional 3570.50.00 | ROLEX: GMT-Master II 16710 BLRO | SEIKO: MarineMaster SBDX001 | SINN: 358 Fliegerchronograph | SUNNTO: Core




  8. #8
    Member lysanderxiii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    N 32 deg, 47' 27.9168"; W 79 deg, 54' 30.3372"
    Posts
    8,032

    Re: Is it possible to set the time of an atomic watch manually?

    Last edited by lysanderxiii; February 11th, 2011 at 23:34.
    Parit enim conversatio contemptum; raritas conciliat admirationem.- Lucius Apuleius
    est necessry, accurate ad secundo? - Lysander magna
    iustum est horologium - Obscurus Genius

  9. #9
    lvt
    lvt is offline
    Member lvt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    The dark side of the Moon
    Posts
    9,884

    Re: Is it possible to set the time of an atomic watch manually?

    Quote Originally Posted by joseph0000 View Post
    Hi community,

    I'm close to buy an atomic watch. However, where I live there aren't any antennas to synchronize with an atomic clock. So my question is: is it possible to set the time manually? Because if the watch loses the time somehow, it can be very awkward to wait until a trip to set up again!
    Thanks!

    Yes you can, it's a basic function of a digital watch, the syncing to atomic time only updates your watch's current time to atomic time if the syncing is successful.
    Ball - Casio (G-shock) - HMT - Longines - Parnis - Seagull - Tissot - Victorinox - Yema

  10. #10
    kew
    kew is offline
    Member kew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,599

    Re: Is it possible to set the time of an atomic watch manually?

    I've got a Junghans and one can set it manually, BUT when I replaced the batteries, it will not show the date anymore unless it receives a signal. I've confirmed that this is the situation according to the manual.... Sometimes (rarely) on a good night. one can receive a radio signal from Japan.


    Here's an extract from the manual....
    "Once the time has been adjusted by using the manual start func-
    tion, it is not possible to display a date. This will only be possible
    again once the watch has been successfully synchronised with a
    time signal transmitter
    ."
    Last edited by kew; February 12th, 2011 at 05:35.
    Nathan

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •