Unusual leather straps
Like Tree24Likes

Thread: Unusual leather straps

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Unusual leather straps

As Anyone interested has seen I'm in the safari business. My job title in this role is " Professional Hunter". It is a bit of a Misnomer as I'm not the one typically doing the hunting. Rather the one responsible for the visitors that come her to hunt with camera or rifle. It's a photo tourism and hunting operation. However, I'm not the stereotypical shoot em up slaughter everything in sight person that many relate to being a hunter. I'm actually a wildlife manager with a degree that assists in the population control of the parks and private reserves to manage wildlife. I use the hunting aspect of this to balance the populations and to pay the salaries of the staff needed to operate a massive game park operation. With that said, there are the occasional animals that are sick, dangerous, or simply just too many of one species. As an example, we have trouble with poachers frequently. They pull down the phone lines and use the wire for snares. On occasion, an elephant will be snared by the trunk. When this happens they will fight the wire until it tightens and cuts the end of the trunk off. At that point the Elephant is dead. It will take days to die because they cannot eat or drink without the end of the trunk functionally intact. These must be put down. There are countless examples of these kinds of injuries or sickness to control so the spread of sickness does not infect the greater population.

So when you see these watch straps understand they were not from animals shot senselessly, but rather for a need that was undeniable and urgent. I find it a horrible waste to let these skins and ivory lay to waste when there is value in the parts to help pay for the operations here. Anti-poaching employees are not free and work at incredible risk.