First Charge New Solar Watch ?
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: First Charge New Solar Watch ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

First Charge New Solar Watch ?

Dear guys,

Just recently I got myself a new tough solar watch protrek PRG 240T-7, I am really happy and satisfied with the features on it .

I want to ask about how long to charge my solar watch for the first time?
    Here are the instruction in the manual:

I am kinda confused how to read the table .
    Need a total of 18 hours to fully charging the battery under the sun (50.000 lux)? --> correct me if I am wrong...

I know that the watch will be better if I charge directly below the sun light, but because of my work I can't do it now (spent a lot of my time in the office).

I am kinda new to this kind of technology (like Tough Solar), but I have studied a lot about it .
    And for the compesantion I use this kind of set up to charge my watch (desk lamp with phillips 15 watt 850 lumens on it):

I know that the temperature will be the main issue but as far as I know the temperature in the surface of my watch didn't realy hot (just warm). Will it be safe to continue using this kind of set up? I already run 8 hours and no blank screen in the display and will be planning to run it to another 70 hours.

For your information the first time I got my watch it show M in the battery power indicator, after 8 hours with my set up, my watch always show on H status

any kind of reply I really apreciate it

thx a lot

login to imageshack if unable to view the image

Last edited by Titanium Steel; February 25th, 2011 at 15:28.

Re: First Charge New Solar Watch ?

Simple, wear your watch and enjoy it, dont put it under lamps etc, best form of light is natural sunlight. i have more than 10 "Tough Solar" Protrek`s and the last thing i worry about is charging. The idea of "tough Solar" is little or no user intervention, wear the watch and it will charge, avoid rapid discharge and excessive heat 60C +