Need Assistance: Order Status CAPTCHA pblm
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Need Assistance: Order Status CAPTCHA pblm

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Yao
    Yao is offline
    Sponsor Yao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,582

    Need Assistance: Order Status CAPTCHA pblm

    Is there anyone else out there that gets a red "X" in a box instead of seeing the CAPTCHA image? I can't re-create the problem.

    I know people have been telling me they can't read it but I assumed it was a separate issue and not as a result of the fact that for some people the CAPTCHA image may not load at all. It may still be a separate issue but if the image doesn't come up at all I'd like to figure out what is causing the issue. So if you have had the problem or are able to re-create the problem please let me know:

    * Browser type used
    * Version of the browser (usually located under the Help menu at the top[ of the browser)
    * OS used (Windows XP, Vista, Leopard, etc...)

    For those of you that can see the CAPTCHA image but still can't submit a ticket please let me know if you can provide any additional information:

    * Size an issue?
    * The CAPTCHA is multi-color so if you have a medical condition this may be a cause
    * Near-sighted?

    I'd like to get to the bottom of this because the system has been immensely useful in helping us stay organized and assisting people with queries and issues. We will be investing more time into the Knowledge base in order to make more information available 24/7. Thanks in advance.

    A General Note about by-passing the CAPTCHA:

    * If you log into the system using your e-mail address and password in the left side of the Order Status Portal window you don't have to fill in a CAPTCHA field.
    * For new users when you "Register" you will have to fill in the CAPTCHA field
    * When you just "Submit a Ticket" without logging in that is when you will have to fill the CAPTCHA field. This is to present spambots from inundating our inbox with garbage.
    * If you have a service problem and no matter what you can't get through send us a message via fax or leave us a VM.
    Last edited by Yao; April 16th, 2012 at 21:30.

  2. #2
    Member ljb187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,579

    Re: Need Assistance: Order Status CAPTCHA pblm

    I have this problem on two machines:

    1) IE 8 on Windows XP SP3
    2) IE 9 on Windows 7 SP1

    Name:  MKll Screenshot.jpg
Views: 964
Size:  30.5 KB

    Don't know if this helps, but if I choose properties for MKll's image and post it in IE's address bar I get this:

    Name:  MK ll Screenshot3.jpg
Views: 838
Size:  100.7 KB

    When I do the same for the San Diego Padres website I get this:

    Name:  MKll Screenshot 2.jpg
Views: 824
Size:  37.9 KB
    Last edited by ljb187; April 16th, 2012 at 22:50.

  3. #3
    Member enkidu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    SFBay Area
    Posts
    2,149

    Re: Need Assistance: Order Status CAPTCHA pblm

    I just tested on my Mac (Mac OS X 10.7.3) and Safari (Version 5.1.5), Google Chrome (18.0.1025.163), Firefox (6.0.2) all successfully showed the CAPTCHA image.
    Nomos Orion Anthracite; Destro watches: Ω "Great White" GMT, MKII Blackwater, Sinn EZM1 LE, IWC 3536-001, MKII Kingston, Precista Speedbird I, Casio MR-G120, Casio GW-5000, Sinn EZM2; Former Watches: Corvus Bradley

  4. #4
    Yao
    Yao is offline
    Sponsor Yao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,582

    Re: Need Assistance: Order Status CAPTCHA pblm

    Quote Originally Posted by ljb187 View Post
    I have this problem on two machines:

    1) IE 8 on Windows XP SP3
    2) IE 9 on Windows 7 SP1
    I will check later on my Windows 7 machine. I looked at the site on my Windows XP SP3 machine (with IE 8) and the Captcha comes up just fine. Its not running any add-ons though. I am not sure if that makes a difference.

    I assume the problem must then be related to a setting in IE. Anyone have a suggestion or idea as to what might be causing the issue with IE?

  5. #5
    Yao
    Yao is offline
    Sponsor Yao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,582

    Re: Need Assistance: Order Status CAPTCHA pblm

    Quote Originally Posted by enkidu View Post
    I just tested on my Mac (Mac OS X 10.7.3) and Safari (Version 5.1.5), Google Chrome (18.0.1025.163), Firefox (6.0.2) all successfully showed the CAPTCHA image.
    Thanks Enkidu and ljb187 for taking the time to test this.

  6. #6
    Member OmegaCosmicMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Alaska or between Alaska, Mexico and Oregon's high desert country
    Posts
    1,922

    Re: Need Assistance: Order Status CAPTCHA pblm

    Has anyone tried toggling 'compatibility view' ?

  7. #7
    Member ljb187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,579

    Re: Need Assistance: Order Status CAPTCHA pblm

    Yes, I tried that and a few other things yesterday. I'll post the links later (mostly to do with changing IE settings). I'm runnnig Norton IE security on both machines so I thought that might be it, but disabling the firewall and anti-virus as well as running in silent mode (another recommendation) didn't help. I'll try my work PCs later today.

  8. #8
    Yao
    Yao is offline
    Sponsor Yao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,582

    Re: Need Assistance: Order Status CAPTCHA pblm

    Quote Originally Posted by ljb187 View Post
    Yes, I tried that and a few other things yesterday. I'll post the links later (mostly to do with changing IE settings). I'm runnnig Norton IE security on both machines so I thought that might be it, but disabling the firewall and anti-virus as well as running in silent mode (another recommendation) didn't help. I'll try my work PCs later today.
    Thanks for going through the trouble!

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    363

    Re: Need Assistance: Order Status CAPTCHA pblm

    OK I'm running Linux (mint-debian edition) and chrome.

    when I first goto the order status page I see the captcha in the lower left. Once I started filling in the fields the the form I guess is trying to match what I'm typing for a quick result. but the page has now shifted down and I can't see the captcha anymore and there is no scroll bar on the side to move down.
    I at first though this was a dead end but I tried using the arrow keys and was able to use the down arrow to scroll down and submit a a test ticket. BTW it took like 3-4 tries for the ticket to go through. Each time I thought the captcha was easy to read so I'm not sure why it wouldn't have been accepted.

    hope this helps
    Take care,
    Seth



    "Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer."

    Romans 12:12

    Hidden Content

  10. #10
    Member ljb187's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,579

    Re: Need Assistance: Order Status CAPTCHA pblm

    Quote Originally Posted by Yao View Post
    I assume the problem must then be related to a setting in IE. Anyone have a suggestion or idea as to what might be causing the issue with IE?
    I think your correct. I found that IE privacy settings are blocking cookies on the helpserver part of your site. All work done using IE 9. I'm pretty sure this will fix other versions of IE, but the settings might be found in different places.

    Before:

    Tools > Safety > Webpage Privacy Policy (helpserver cookies are blocked/CAPTCHA Verification image isn't displayed)

    Name:  Privacy 1.jpg
Views: 726
Size:  54.3 KB

    After:

    Tools > Safety > Webpage Privacy Policy

    1. Highlight just one of the helpserver paths (all other helpserver paths are modified based on this one selection)
    2. Choose Summary
    3. Change the "How cookies are handled" option from "Compare..." to "Always..." then click OK
    4. Click close on the Privacy Report window (helpserver cookies will no longer be shown as blocked if you open the window again)
    5. Refresh IE and the CATPCHA Verification image should be present


    Name:  Privacy 2.jpg
Views: 738
Size:  89.0 KB

    I haven't looked at it any closer than this, but it seems to be a way to get cookies for MKll's site to work without having to modify your global privacy policy in IE.
    Last edited by ljb187; April 20th, 2012 at 03:23.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •