Thread: Vintage gold DOXA question :)

Vintage gold DOXA question :)

hello guys !!

this is my first post here - so I am a newbie ... :)

to make long story short: this watch belonged to my Grandfather - after He died my Aunt got it...
    now - Aunt want to sell this watch - I want to buy it (yeah. I know.. buying from family sucks) because I dont want this watch to go to stranger - things like that should stay with family.
    problem is that Aunt priced this watch (thru jeweler) at $700 - its quite a lot I believe - altough watch is in good working condition.
    what can You guys tell me about this watch by the serial numbers ?? when was it made ?? what this modell is called.. and aprox value of it ???

I know I shouldnt discuss a price when family memorabilia are beein sold - but I dont want to look like idiot paying every price my aunt will demand

:thanks
    cheers !
    mike !
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by kuligow; March 11th, 2006 at 08:17.

Re: Vintage gold DOXA question :)

Hi Kuligow and welcome! Unfortunately there is no data base available for most of Doxa's vintage dress watches, so there is no definite way to tell when it was made or what its market value would be. Checking the listings on ebay may give you some idea, if you happen to see one similar to it, but that's a long shot at best. Some of those vintage pieces used very high end movements. If yours has one, plus the fact it is a gold case, I can see how a jeweler would place such a high value on it.

Sorry but that's all I know. Good luck with your Aunt!

Paul
    Doxa Ad Vitam !

Metropolitan San Juan, Puerto Rico, West Indies, Caribbean.

This is my opinion....