My new Bambino - aka "a Rookie's experience with his first automatic watch"
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: My new Bambino - aka "a Rookie's experience with his first automatic watch"

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

My new Bambino - aka "a Rookie's experience with his first automatic watch"

Just my first impressions with my new Orient Bambino. This isn't a TRUE review...I'm not experienced enough to lecture the merits of different movements, design features, etc. This is merely an encapsulation of my feelings on this watch.

Received my Orient Bambino Automatic watch in the mail 2 days ago. I haven't owned a mechanical watch since 8th grade (1977 - A Timex). I have many quartz watches ranging from a $10 WalMart generic to a $450 Citizen with Atomic sync and EcoDrive with 42 (I think) city WorldTime. I decided that I wanted to see what the other half of the watch world was into and took the plunge with the "Orient ER24001B Men's Bambino Automatic Black Dial Rose Gold Tone Leather Strap Mechanical Watch" after reading reviews about Orient watches on this site and others (chiefly WornAndWound). The criteria for my decision were : 1) Price must be reasonable - I'm not going to allow myself to get scalped financially for a watch for the sake of two little words, 2) Watch accuracy was unimportant on this purchase...I have accurate watches already (including 2 with PERFECT accuracy thanks to our friends at Fort Collins, Co.) 3) no metal bracelet, 4) the watch will be used as a dress watch so it has to be lovely and tasteful (and not look as brutal as my beloved G-Shock!).