WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

FC-710 vs ETA2824 / SW200-1. Discussing an in-house movement.

8K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  gatormac 
#1 ·
When I first saw a FC-710 movement, through a Classics Manufacture's caseback, I thought 'wow, this looks mysterious':
Two concentric plates cover most of the movement, but, still, it's possible to observe the balance wheel in action (at 6).

I am not an expert, but it looks very different from the workhorses of the industry, the ETA 2824 (and variants) and Sellita SW200-1 (and variants).

To my understanding, the Sellita was born as a copy of the ETA because of politics (monopolistic practices, etc.) We know the story; in sum they wanted to offer the exact same quality without depending on the Swatch Group...

On the other hand, the FC-710 was born as a true manufacture caliber and indending to be different from these 'generic movements', and as such it should be differently constructed, right?
I know it is still a simple three hand plus date, and at an 'entry price' (from manufactured movements), but it has to be different (let aside 'better'), right?

Then, what's exactly behind those mysterious plates in my FC-710 and how is it different/better regarding the generic movements?

All the technical information I was able to find is here: 700 series manufacture | Frederique Constant

There it states that the in-house movement has the same number of jewels, power reserve and frequency (28.800vph, canonical for the Swiss).
The only obvious differences seem to be the size (the FC is larger, don't know if that's better, I guess not because all other specs are the same) and the analog display of the date.

Is it possible to get a technical drawing of an FC-710?
That would be great.

See less See more
#6 ·