Like Tree20Likes

Thread: How to Become a Watchmaker (in my situation)

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

How to Become a Watchmaker (in my situation)

I've been talking to my wife for a couple years casually about becoming a watchmaker, but it wasn't until just recently that I realized this is definitely what I want to do, and now I can't stop thinking about it. I think my situation might be a little complicated, so I will tell you and I'm hoping someone experienced can help by pointing me in the right direction.

I'm 28 years old, married to a Korean woman and living in Korea. I've lived here four years, married three of those, with a special VISA that allows me to live and work here indefinitely. I've basically settled down here and call it my home now, and I have made a career out of teaching English here. I should also mention that I have bought an apartment and a car, parts of the equation when thinking about whether to stay or move away for a long time.

I'm an American citizen, I have a BA in liberal arts and a Minor in Russian. I'm also getting my TESOL certification now (for teaching English to non-native speakers) which will be completed the end of July.

My wife thinks things are going well now, and I agree except for the fact that I know this isn't what I love to do. I can't go into it now, but just be assured I know watchmaking is what I want to do, and I'm willing to relocate and give up a career here for a chance to pursue this. I don't mean to sound corny, but it's been calling me more strongly each day to the point that it's all I can think about.