Understanding movements

Thread: Understanding movements

Understanding movements

Hi all. I'm very new to watches and I'm trying to understand how to calculate the size and ratios for the wheels. I'm a member of the BHI and will be taking all the courses (I don't plan to make money from watches, I plan for them to be a diversion from daily work), and I have read George Daniels book.

I guess what I'm asking is which way do you work? An 18,000 VBH escapement with a 15 tooth escapement wheel will mean that wheel turns at 20rpm right? From that I could work backwards and design a train. The design of the mechanics is what I find fascinating.

I have built a basic workshop - lathe, mill, micro CNC for cutting wheels, and I'm learning the basics of metalwork. I have 20 years before I retire, maybe more. At that point I want something to do that occupies my hands and my mind. Pocket watches and motorcycles are it

I'm from the UK. I've spoken to a few repairers and one clock maker but they thought I was competition so weren't entirely friendly.

Cheers.

Re: Understanding movements

Quote Originally Posted by P1505C View Post

...I'm trying to understand how to calculate the size and ratios for the wheels. *

...I guess what I'm asking is which way do you work? **

...An 18,000 VBH escapement with a 15 tooth escapement wheel will mean that wheel turns at 20rpm right? From that I could work backwards and design a train. ***

I'm from the UK. I've spoken to a few repairers and one clock maker but they thought I was competition so weren't entirely friendly. ****