Thread: Warning/Scam Alert

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    arr
    arr is online now
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    179

    Warning/Scam Alert

    I wanted to make everyone aware of two scammers, posing under the names Nic Green and Daniel Lewis. The Nic Green scam is well documented on WUS and elsewhere (although I didn't know about it until yesterday). Both of these were in response to my WTB ad for a Laco Squad diver (the SS model that was discontinued a few years ago). I received several e-mails from someone purporting to be Nic Green, allegedly in the UK, with photos of the Laco Squad watch. His e-mail address was jatod10@gmail.com. He was asking $550 for it and said it was "flawless". He added that he had just purchased it a few weeks ago (implying that he purchased it brand new). This should have been my first red flag, since the watch was discontinued some time ago and no dealer has that model in stock anymore. He did not say he bought it new old stock. I told him I'd take the watch and asked him to send me his Paypal address. He replied that he would only accept Western Union payment. At that point I became suspicious and Googled his name, only to find several threads regarding scams. He has apparently stolen the real Nic Green's identity and tried this scam a number of times. I sent him an e-mail with links to a couple of the scam warnings and told him I was no longer interested.

    I also received replies from someone claiming to be "Daniel Lewis" at the following e-mail address:d.lewis1301@gmail.com. This reply was almost laughable. He said "I do have the requested parts/items available for sale in an excellent shape and good condition. Let me know if you are still interested." Usg such generic language is clearly a red flag. He later said the price was $4,500 (for a watch that was approximately $700 brand new when it was available). Then he sent me photos of an IWC Aquatimer. He later sent an e-mail that said (in broken English) that he was having "technical difficulties" in sending photos. He never answered my questions about whether the boxes and papers were include, details on condition, etc. When I asked if he would accept Paypal, he replied that he would only take Western Union, since his "Paypal is currently not working". Riiight...

    Just be vigilant out there, people.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3

    Re: Warning/Scam Alert

    its a good thing i searched the name nic green. i was contacted by this guy about a zodiac oceanaire.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3

    Re: Warning/Scam Alert

    it looks like the same person is going by the name of "steve bell"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •