Thread: Longines Hydroconquest casual review

Longines Hydroconquest casual review

This is a very laid back, casual review of my Hydroconquest by Longines!

Hi all! I have a very small collection of watches, as other equally expensive hobbies eat my budget, which is quite limited due to being a student and whatnot. So when I do buy a watch that I like, I have a long time saving up for it to research it to hell and back over the internet, talk to people about it, read reviews, the likes .

I turned twenty-three in October 2009, and I got my Associates Degree the month before. I figure I would treat myself to something nice, and with payday and birthday money, I was able to swing it! What I ended up with, after debating between Hamiltons and Longines, was a 41 millimetre Hydroconquest in blue. Seems black is a lot more popular, but I really like the blue colour, and in the sun it’s just gorgeous!

For me, the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence. So I may have enjoyed the Oris TT1 better. Then again if the Oris was on my wrist I’d be wondering what life would be like with the Longines; aside from buyin’ them both, you’ll always have a sliver of regret somewhere.

First Impressions:

There’s no getting around it – this thing is heavy. It’s wonderful if you want a heavy watch, but if you want something more lightweight, a titanium Oris would be more up your alley.
    The watch feels very robust, the bezel rotates and clicks beautifully, the clasp is very tough, though a bit difficult to open sometimes.
    I don’t have a big wrist, something like seven inches, and though I’d say this is a large watch at 41 millimetres, it does not LOOK big, probably because the bezel takes away from the size of the face. So if you have skinny wrists, this watch will still look half-decent on you, unless your wrists are ridiculously small, then you’ll probably be a bit intimidated by this watch’s size.

Living with the Longines: