Automatic Vs. Kinetic

Thread: Automatic Vs. Kinetic

-->
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Automatic Vs. Kinetic

Now I do not have any kinetics, and I'm still waiting on the arrival of my first automatic, but the concept of the kinetic watch seems facinating to me (no watch winding at all!). But it seems like automatics are more prevalent and popular to watch collectors, and I wanted to know why kinetics weren't getting as much love. Is it because watch's main capacitor will eventually wear out and need to be replaced. Please fill me in.

Re: Automatic Vs. Kinetic

I think its that mechanical and mechanical automatics are purist forms of watchmaking(movements) and time keeping. With all the gears and parts working together to keep good and accurate time. Its a watch with soul with no gimmicks. Kenetics have there own merit also IMHO. Mechanicals are just the original form of timekeeping.

I'm very new to the watch game, but I thought that Kinetics were also a form of mechanical watch. Can you please clarify this for me. Also, what are the drawbacks to a kinetic watch?