Your opinion on this manual movement please?
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Chascomm
  • 1 Post By Bucks
  • 1 Post By Chascomm
  • 1 Post By LightDot

Thread: Your opinion on this manual movement please?

Confused Your opinion on this manual movement please?

Any info on this if it's good?

Hand Windind Sea-gull ST3621 (6498-2) Movement

Apparently it's
    Running Time- 40Hour, +/-45sec/1day
    Is that acceptable to you? forty five seconds?

There's a video on youtube https://youtu.be/-7KtlERRDj0">https://youtu.be/-7KtlERRDj0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350">
    Title: Seagull ST36 Design Flaw

Is it the same as ST3621 (6498-2) ?

What would be a good manual movement in your opinion?

I must suck at researching because I can't seem to find any Japanese MANUAL movement. They're all Miyota automatic movement.

Newbie here, bear with me please. Thank you.

Re: Your opinion on this manual movement please?

Also, is Asian 6498 a Seagull?

Mod. Russian, China Mech. Chascomm's Avatar

There are at least two Chinese manufacturers producing clones of the Unitas/ETA 6497/6498 pocket-watch movement.

Sea-Gull produce the ST36 series which is available with seconds sub-dial at 6 o'clock or 9 o'clock and with 4 styles of movement bridge design (including skeleton). The escapement beats at 21,600 bph. There are no complications offered. This is the movement that you have been looking at.

Hangzhou Watch Factory produce the 9-series, which is available in a variety of layouts, bridge designs, skeleton cuts and with various optional complications on additional sub-dials. The escapement was originally 18,000 bph, but a few years ago was uprated to 21,600. The older ones are probably still available.