Thread: Opinions on Seamaster vs. Aquaracer

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Opinions on Seamaster vs. Aquaracer

I'm a relative newbie to higher end watches but have been surfin the forums last week or so. I've finally decided on 4 possible watches. I'm interested in buying used in very good condition and looking in the 1-2k range, I like the Aquaracer and Seamaster the best...either in black or blue with matching bezels.

My favs are the auto chronographs, but also considering just the autos. Generally, forums seem to prefer the omega, but haven't seen any direct comparisons of the two. Seems like most feel movement quality goes to omega. I'm not sure about case/bracelet quality between the two.

So, whats your opinion between the two?

P.S. I have a smallish wrist so don't want any of the really large watches...I think 42mm case is the largest that I could do.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Re: Opinions on Seamaster vs. Aquaracer

Based on looks alone I like the Aquaracer better.

Simply put, the Tag is ok but the Omega is outstanding.

Omega is really a world class watch that competes with the best of Switzerland from casework/finishing to bracelet to movement.

The TAG is not a watch that stands out from the rest of the crowd of eta powered "Swiss" watches using Asian manufactured components.

You get what you pay for, and if the budget allows then I would go Omega everytime.

You have to compare apples to apples per se. The movements in each watch are completely different, the Tag Heuer is a fine watch, however its movement is somewhat lacking. The Omega is a COSC Chonometer, even in the standard automatic. The complexity of the movement is the biggest difference.