Glashutte Spezimatic
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Glashutte Spezimatic

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Glashutte Spezimatic

I got this piece at a vintage clock and watch shop (aka "candy store") in Dresden. I'm still learning about the watch, which was made by GUB, Glashutte Uhrenbau ("Glashutte Watch Builder"). The Kaliber 74 was made from 1967 to 1980. A longtime Lange movement designer told me it was a very good movement design with slightly inferior parts to keep cost down. I trust her assessment. So far, it's been pretty accurate.

I used a butter knife to pop the back off. This thing must be new old stock cos the gasket is clean and intact and the movement is not degraded at all. Dial is fresh and so is the massively domed acrylic crystal. Winds nicely and has a great hypnotic, slow-beat tick. I had the shop owner swap the strap to a nice high quality brown pebbled leather, possibly Hirsch (it's German) which complements the watch nicely. I like having a cream dial and brown strap.

Enjoy the photos.

Movement. That spring clip on the rotor doesn't inspire confidence.

Pretty plain case back. Hey, it's from the old Eastern Bloc days!
    cajmrn likes this.

Re: Glashutte Spezimatic

Cool.

Love that cream dial

Not even time to kill

Moderator at Large stuffler,mike's Avatar

Just a small correction. The correct name would have been VEB Glashütte Uhrenbetriebe GUB. VEB=Volkseigener Betrieb=publicly owned company. Common parlance: The GUB.

The caliber 74 (internally known as the 06-25) was a very famous one, the date version was the caliber 75 (GUB 06-26).

Both movements have been produced in masses from 1964 to 1979/1980, approximately 280 different models have been available.
    Cases have been produced in gold or chrome plated. 24 different cases are known within the whole model range.

The anual output of cal. 74/75 watches was about 260.000.