Omega 1538 calibre

Thread: Omega 1538 calibre

-->
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Omega 1538 calibre

Dear Forum: I have a new Omega Seamaster Aquaterra quartz which has a 1538 calibre. Is this the same movement as my '95 Seamaster? It seems to have the identical features. Thanks, Roger. P.S. why does the second hand never line up with the indices? I assume 'low qualtiy control' is the answer!

Re: Omega 1538 calibre

Speaking of 'low quality', please pardon my typo in the original post.

Quote Originally Posted by RogerE View Post
    Dear Forum: I have a new Omega Seamaster Aquaterra quartz which has a 1538 calibre. Is this the same movement as my '95 Seamaster? It seems to have the identical features. Thanks, Roger. P.S. why does the second hand never line up with the indices? I assume 'low quality control' is the answer!
    The current Omega Cal.1538 is an ETA 255.461. It is a fairly old movement so it could be the same movement as in your 1995 Seamaster. It looks like that Omega changed the caliber ID of the Cal.1438 to Cal.1538 a couple of years ago for unknown reason as both these movements are in fact ETA 255.461.
    About your observation of the seconds-hand and the indices: I think, you're right it must be a quality control issue affecting almost all quartz watches.

Quote Originally Posted by ppaulusz View Post
    About your observation of the seconds-hand and the indices: I think, you're right it must be a quality control issue affecting almost all quartz watches.
    Not meaning to bash, here, but I'm thinking that this is much more prevelant among Swiss watches, as opposed to Japanese ones. That's my experience at least, but am interested in hearing other observations. My GP quartz from 1972, otoh, is dead on all the way around. My impression? When quartz was a special, exotic new technology, they really cared.

Quote Originally Posted by Bruce Reding View Post