1960's Rectangular Vostok with 2209 gaining >15 minutes per day
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By fangsus

Thread: 1960's Rectangular Vostok with 2209 gaining >15 minutes per day

Question 1960's Rectangular Vostok with 2209 gaining >15 minutes per day

This is my first post here, but I've been collecting Soviet watches for about 2 years now, and only recently begun working on them. I've done plenty of precision work in the past in various fields, but watches are new to me. I've fixed a handful of Amphibias, but mainly easy adjustments with little mechanical issues. I picked this watch up about a month ago for very cheap, and it's beautiful if not a bit small. It runs fine, winds easy, but gains time like none other. My main leads from previous research are a gunked hairspring or magnetism. My question is pretty straightforward I suppose. How do I go about determining the correct direction to head in? I feel 15-30 minutes of gained time is significant. I can post movement pictures but seeing as it's my first post I don't believe I can. I will link a photo from mroatman's page as it's nearly the same watch but with a stainless or plated case instead of gold. Any lead in the direction I need to head is most appreciated. Thanks in advance.

https://mroatman.wixsite.com/watches-of-the-ussr/vostok?lightbox=dataItem-ihjx2e4x
    The watch in question, only mine has an identical case in silver color.
    Slm643 likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by fangsus View Post