Is this authentic? (80s CCCP Scuba Dude 21j)
Like Tree12Likes

Thread: Is this authentic? (80s CCCP Scuba Dude 21j)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Is this authentic? (80s CCCP Scuba Dude 21j)

I'm new to Russian watches, but I'm hooked! I bought this Vostov Amphibia from E-Bay, paid $150. Delivered from a Ukrainian dealer (eek!)... listed as a Soviet-made 80s Scuba Dude 21 jewels. It's in such great condition I'm concerned if its all original parts. Is it authentic??? These are the photos from E-Bay, I received the item, it matches the photos. I will open it up to inspect the movement when my friend comes over with his watch tools this weekend. Is there any definitive way to determine the year it was made?

I believe this is a 960 case, any idea where I can by aftermarket bands? Initial searches are sparse at best.

Name:  Screen Shot 2019-04-10 at 11.32.22 PM.png
Views: 178
Size:  305.1 KBName:  s-l1600.jpg
Views: 189
Size:  179.1 KBName:  s-l1600 (2).jpg
Views: 190
Size:  114.0 KBName:  s-l1600 (3).jpg
Views: 188
Size:  112.4 KBName:  s-l1600 (4).jpg
Views: 185
Size:  186.0 KBName:  s-l1600 (5).jpg
Views: 184
Size:  171.9 KBName:  s-l1600 (6).jpg
Views: 186
Size:  190.7 KBName:  s-l1600 (7).jpg
Views: 179
Size:  85.4 KBName:  s-l1600 (8).jpg
Views: 180
Size:  85.1 KB
    shahrincamille and RedFroggy like this.

Re: Is this authentic? (80s CCCP Scuba Dude 21j)

Welcome to the forum

The dial looks to be in great condition paint wise, however some of the lume dots on the right hand side appear damaged and/or missing. The hands are of the correct period however they appear to have been relumed and do not match the dial lume.

The movement looks correct (there should also be an "SU" stamped on the auto winding bridge but it's obscured in the photo) and the winding stem appears to be brass which is in keeping with the watch maintaining it's anti-magnetic qualities.

The case back has the required integrated anti-magnetic shield.