Experts, chime in: Raketa 24hr blue / red bezel
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Experts, chime in: Raketa 24hr blue / red bezel

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Experts, chime in: Raketa 24hr blue / red bezel

Hello, all. This is my first time posting here, as you can easily tell.

Although I have a small collection of watches, I somehow only recently became aware of 24-hour mechanisms and decided I needed one. Found this on eBay yesterday. I know it is beat to hell, but I quite like the visual effect of the wear and based on a bit of research believe that the movement is genuine. A couple of things have me confused, though:

• Although the face otherwise perfectly matches early examples of Raketa submariners, there is no "Made in USSR" text under the anchor.
    • The serial number stamped on the backplate is only three digits (appears to be "888") rather than 5-6 digits

Any insight into these things would be appreciated. I probably over-paid for the watch, but as long as it keeps decent time after a service I don't really care. It's beautiful. :)

Here are the pictures from the eBay listing:

Name:  01_face.jpg
Views: 641
Size:  99.4 KB
    Name:  01_back.jpg
Views: 569
Size:  77.6 KB
    Name:  01_interior.jpg
Views: 572
Size:  143.7 KB

Now I wait patiently for it to get here from Ukraine!
    Ratfacedgit likes this.

Re: Experts, chime in: Raketa 24hr blue / red bezel

Here is my observation. First off, I am no expert, just putting it out there.

The winding bridge has no surface grain, no bevel.

The center bridge has a grain pattern, no bevel.

The balance bridge has a grain in a different direction and has a bevel on the outside.

The balance screw looks different compared to the others.

The two shock-proof jewel mounts are different.

It looks like parts from different movements.

Depending on year of production the original balance may not have had the extra regulator to adjust the beat error.

Again, let the experts chime in. Either way, I like it.

Dan