Oh no! Leaking 80s Amphibia...
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Oh no! Leaking 80s Amphibia...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Oh no! Leaking 80s Amphibia...

Hello everyone! This is my first post so I had better introduce myself (I'm sure there's a thread for this on the main part of the WUS fora but I don't expect I'll venture out of the Russian section for a while, anyway). I've been lurking on this forum for a few weeks looking at information on Vostoks, and have found it incredibly useful. As for me, I'm a student from the UK with nothing very interesting to report except that I've recently bought an 80s Amphibia; this one, to be precise:

Name:  p1140011.jpg
Views: 433
Size:  109.0 KB

(I've been lazy and used the Ebay seller's photos so it will probably disappear in future).

It seems to be in pretty good nick (by my judgement anyway - I'm a bit of an amateur watch fiddler with no real expertise to speak of but I've brought over/underlubricated pocket watches back to life by full disassembly, cleaning and oiling), but I wore it in the shower earlier and there was a little condensation on the inside of the crystal. I've opened it up and it's now drying gently on a little lighter fuel handwarmer (much better IMO than a dusty radiator with gaping holes to lose bits down).

The case gasket is in what appears to be good condition - still consistently flexible and supple. It was ungreased, but I believe this is normal? As for the crown gasket, it seems good but its a little harder to see, and I've got nothing to compare it with. What little moisture there was inside the case was concentrated around the case gasket. This turned me against my first thought, that I had left the crown a little loose. The crystal shows no signs of damage, which seems to be another common explanation.