Vostoks in the wild
Like Tree5Likes
  • 4 Post By psco78
  • 1 Post By GillesVO

Thread: Vostoks in the wild

Vostoks in the wild

Just wondering, I have been wearing one off and on for a couple of years, and I typically check out people's watches - I have never seen anyone else wearing one. I have been collecting for decades, so I think I would notice one in the wild, if only for identification purposes. No one who has commented on mine has ever heard of Vostok. A gutsy challenge thread - "Vostoks in the wild". With pics of watches on strangers of course.

Re: Vostoks in the wild

I've never seen any on a wrist either though I did stumble across a local second hand watch shop selling mostly tatty used junky quartz watches..about to move on, I spotted a Slava in the window and went inside. Had a LONG chat with the guy and he was really into watches, and sounded like he knew his way around the inside of a mechanical too - just goes to show you should never judge a watch seller by the outside of the shop! He was a really nice guy and I found it quite liberating to actually talk to someone face to face about watches.. Last week I went by again and noticed a brand new Komandirsrkie in the window! Amazing really as where I live, it's a pretty small town which only sells the usual fashion watches on the highstreet..

I’m in a line of work that requires me to carry out inspections on seagoing vessels. Because a relatively large portion of ships’ manning nowadays is made up of Russians and Ukranians, I tend to run into them on a daily basis.

So far, I’ve seen these in the wild:

- Vostok Komandirksie (worn by a bosun)
    - ‘80s Poljot Sturmanskie chronograph 3133 (captain)
    - Sturmanskie open space 24h (company superintendent)
    - Vostok Amphiabian 119 case (chief engineer)
    - Vostok Komandirskie (chief engineer)

I have a wristshot of that last one, together with my own Albatros:

Name:  IMG_20151108_150417687_HDR.jpg
Views: 50
Size:  1.81 MB