Review - Speedmaster Racing w/9900 Movement
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By bill.taylor.72

Thread: Review - Speedmaster Racing w/9900 Movement

Review - Speedmaster Racing w/9900 Movement

I just took delivery of my new Speedmaster Racing watch (model 329.30.44.51.01.001). This watch is in “traditional garb” reminiscent of the traditional Speedmaster Professional… stainless w black dial and white hands, on stainless steel bracelet; but carrying the new co-axial 9900 movement. This is my first ever watch review. I hope you enjoy it.

First some background on the purchase: I had been wearing a Seiko Divers watch for the last 20 years, ever since receiving one as a gift from my wife on our first anniversary. As a 26 year old just out of grad school, that Seiko was a special “real watch” to me, and I loved it. I wore it almost every day for 20 years. But over time it became less and less right for daily wear, and in recent years I got the itch for something more. So recently I purchased a couple Swiss watches that I liked, including a Bell & Ross BR-03 and a Ball Aviator GMT. I enjoy both of these; but after a few months I see these them as secondary watches. They are good alternates; but neither one is “the watch” to be worn daily for a decade or more. Plus, these two work best on leather and rubber straps respectively; leaving me without a steel bracelet watch. After 20 years of that Seiko, a steel bracelet is my habit. So in summary: I was seeking something special, something classic, something for daily wear, stainless with stainless bracelet, meant to last for decades. That was my spec as I went out shopping.