Budget DSLR

Thread: Budget DSLR

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Budget DSLR

I'm considering moving up to my first DSLR. I've been reading up on three, but the more reviews I read, the more confused I am getting about the technical details.

I'm a novice photographer. I've always used nice compact point and shooters but would like to move to the next level. I would use the camera for work as well (Realtor) so I would take a lot of wide angle shots and more indoor photography than outdoors; then of course my watch photos...... But ease of use would be as important as picture quality.

The three are:

Nikon D60
    Canon Rebel XS
    Olympus E-520

Which would you recommend for my needs and why?

Thanks for your time.

Re: Budget DSLR

I purchased the D-510 early this year and am very pleased with it. I average about 20,000 photos a year and shoot everything from airshows, to macro stills. The camera performs very well in manual and auto with my only complaint being the autofocus loves to roam in low light situations. Cycling the power will reset the lens to infinity which helps some. The Olympus DSLR's have a few really unique and handy features. One is a live view that allows you to compose your shots on the lcd. The other that I use frequently is the depth of field preview button. The camera also has a fully adjustable white balance control which can be previewed on the lcd for white matching.

I have added the 70-300 Zuiko telephoto to my kit and am quite happy with the lenses. I would say the only other consideration to take would be how large you intend to expand your lens collection. There are not that many 4/3 olympus lenses available and they are pretty darn expensive.

Overall, while I can't comment on the others you are considering, I can say that you won't be disappointed with an E-510 or 520 (only difference is resolution) series camera.

I take horrible pics, so this won't mean much, but I love my D40.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com