Canon Lens

Thread: Canon Lens

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Canon Lens

Hi,

i am new to photography and pruchased a 1000D about five months ago and have been running around taking photos with the lens that came with the camera.

Knowing that you are better to spend your money on a good lens that is portable across hardware upgrades, i am now looking for a lens that is decent and slots between the 18-55 and the 75-300 that I have.

i have narrowed it down to three based on reviews online, but if there are people that have more knowledge or can advise, jump in and make a case for or against.

the three are

ef 24-105mm f/4
    ef 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6
    ef 24-70mm f/2.8

two are on the higher side of a purchase and the other the lower, but am I better spending now and using for a long time?
    Current Collection

Panerai Luminor 112
    Omega Seamaster Vancouver Games LE
    Chopard Millie Milgia
    Panerai Radiomir 183
    Lacroix Masterpiece Retrograde Moon Phase
    Fortis Official Cosmonauts B42 LE

too many others, always adding!

Haf

Re: Canon Lens

The two pro grade zooms you listed (24-105 and 24-70) are overkill for your camera. All three lenses have been designed to offer the best results on full frame cameras like the Canon 5d series or 1ds series in respect to focal length ranges. Unless you seriously need it, any lens that starts from 24mm doesn't make much sense on an APS-C camera since 24mm gives you the equivalent angle of view that a ~38mm lens offers on a full frame camera, so this means you will probably miss the wide angle section of your kit lens.

Unless you are planning an upgrade to a full frame camera in the near future I would try to find some other lenses more suitable to the APS-C format.