Canon lens recommendation?
Like Tree21Likes

Thread: Canon lens recommendation?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Hey guys,

I have been toying with the idea of stepping away from my iPhone, and wanted to start using my Canon T7i to take better quality watch photos. My question is, what would be a versatile lens to invest in for general watch photography? Every time I break out my Canon with the 18-55 kit lens, I become frustrated trying to dial in the focus. I often gravitate back to using my iPhone for a quick wrist shot and have put the Canon aside for hiking and outdoor photography.

I see amazing pictures on blogs/Instagram with watches alongside different items (leather boots, straps, denim, books, etc.) and would like to draw inspiration from these shots. Below are two pics taken from W&W and Hodinkee articles...this is the style that I'm looking for. What lens would make it easier to take these type of shots? I am new to watch photography, so any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Current Collection:
    Omega:
    SMPc Black, SMP 2254.50 Doxa: Sub 1200T Sharkhunter Seiko: SBBN031 Tuna, SBDC053 62Mas, SRPA21 PADI Turtle, SKX009 Oris: Aquis Blue Hamilton: Khaki Field Mechanical G-Shock: GW7900B-1

Instagram: @the.realwatchman

Re: Canon lens recommendation?

Check out the Sigma Art line of lenses, they're often optically superior to Canon but their autofocus can be lacking (not a big deal if you're shooting still life stuff like your examples though).

The 70mm Macro might be a good fit for oyu
    Mreal75 likes this.

Yeah i totally agree. the Sigma Art line really rocks.
    Also I would recommend
    Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/4-5.6 IS STM
    It's pretty good zoom lens that I have been using.
    Mreal75 likes this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements