Drone photography
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Drone photography

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Drone photography

Drone usage is almost as bad as Ford vs Chevy, Rolex vs Omega, Invicta vs anything. Before we go down that path of drone hatred though let's have a discussion. I've been a photographer for over 40 years, recently I decided to add another tool to my photo bag. I bought a drone. Now before we get into the drone hatred part let me say first that right now I am NOT doing commercial jobs with it. Before I can do that I have to study for and pass the FAA part 107 test which I'm studying for now. All of this pertains to the US and I'm not sure of the commercial requirements in other countries. I personally research the laws in every state and country I plan to fly and shoot video/photos in though. That's the right thing to do really. Now on to the hard stuff as if the test wasn't hard enough. The drone haters.

If you are in the camp that hates drones for privacy reasons I would like for you to consider this. 99.9% of the consumer drones have a fixed wide angle lens. At 50 feet in the air you look almost like an ant. I couldn't tell you if you wear wearing shorts or pants. Unless you are spying on a mountain range a drone with a wide angle lens is useless for invading your privacy. A crop duster and a point and shoot camera would be much better for that. Bottom line, it's very rarely happening. Sure we could scour the internet and find that guy but almost every drone user is just interested in video and photography of landscapes. Here's a test if you have a drone. Put your watch on the ground, put the drone up. Take some watch photos. It's not really working is it? OK, so now you say "they'll fly close and sneak up on you".