Film versus Pixels

Thread: Film versus Pixels

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Film versus Pixels

I often read that Film offers superior picture quality, depth, tone etc over digital pixel sensors. I am new to photography and so have no experience here. My question is: is it true - technically, demonstratively, unequivocally?

Will a Leica M7 take better pictures than a Leica M9?
    Will a Nikon F2 take better pictures than a Nikon D3s?

Certainly in the early days of lower pixel sensors, I read that picture quality got grainy at moderate ISO and could not easily be printed over A4. But with increased pixel count and several generations of technical improvements in DSLR sensors, is the image quality between Decent film and decent DSLR cameras really that noticeable?

si
    "He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose" Jim Elliot - Missionary, Martyr

Re: Film versus Pixels

Quote Originally Posted by Simon View Post
    I often read that Film offers superior picture quality, depth, tone etc over digital pixel sensors. I am new to photography and so have no experience here. My question is: is it true - technically, demonstratively, unequivocally?

Will a Leica M7 take better pictures than a Leica M9?
    Will a Nikon F2 take better pictures than a Nikon D3s?

Certainly in the early days of lower pixel sensors, I read that picture quality got grainy at moderate ISO and could not easily be printed over A4. But with increased pixel count and several generations of technical improvements in DSLR sensors, is the image quality between Decent film and decent DSLR cameras really that noticeable?

si
    http://www.kenrockwell.com/olympus/trip-35.htm#perf

http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/25-vs-5000-camera.htm

http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/150-...lar-camera.htm

http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/7.htm

The best camera is the one you have with you at the time.
    Last edited by Ray MacDonald; May 28th, 2010 at 17:12.