As I strolled by...........

Thread: As I strolled by...........

As I strolled by...........

Hi Dudes,

I was strolling a long (no, not by moonlight bay) but by Horsham in the UK, when I saw an old Olympus Camedia 3000 Zoom digital camera for sale for £5.00 in a junk shop.

And being the sort of Chap that does odd things thing like buying old tat from Junk shops, I nipped in and slapped down a crisp new lady Godiver, and the camera was mine.

it's a bit slow, has (now don't go mad) 3.3 megapixel's!!!! and not much else!

But and it's a big BUT, takes very good Pic's.

So as I am somewhat new to digital, how many megapixel's would you think was the min you need for a good pic? and do we need 8, 9, 10 10000 megapixel's or are we being sold big numbers for big numbers??

tonyh

Re: As I strolled by...........

I am not an expert in photography, but heard in the past of something called the 'sweet spot' situated at around 6 mega pixels, I am sure someone will correct me if I am wrong.
    Stowa Marine Automatic solid silver dial Hamilton Jazzmaster Power Reserve | Jazzmaster Viewmatic Seiko 5 SNZD13J1 | 5 SNZE87J1 Parnis Power Reserve Accurist Kinetic Chronograph MB 560 Casio (G-Shock) GW50001JF | DW5200C | DW5600C | DW5600R3 | G7800B1DR | DW6600 |​ DW6630B (modded) Casio (Protrek) PRG-240B

It depends on what you want to do... just photos to share with family members via email -- OK... but to do more, you may want to have more features and more pixels. But don't let just the megapixel count be your guide to a good camera. My first digital was an Olympus C3020, which is a 3.2 mpx camera, and it was also a couple of hundred US$. Here are two of my favorite photos with that camera.

Jack-at-RULA-BULA.jpg photo - Jack Sheldon, Jr. photos at pbase.com

Jack-at-RULA-sunglasses.JPG photo - Jack Sheldon, Jr. photos at pbase.com