Lets talk leica

Thread: Lets talk leica

Lets talk leica

Hi guys

I am new to photography but reading and practicing compulsively. Cant miss the influence of the Leica historically, nor its price, nor some of the mystical claims adherents ascribe to it. A new M9 just released without lens for the price of Breitling Navitimer :)

I would really appreciate hearing people's comments, experiences - positive and negative about The Leica.

thanks

si
    Last edited by Simon; October 9th, 2009 at 18:41. Reason: spelling
    "He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose" Jim Elliot - Missionary, Martyr

Re: Lets talk leica

Doesn't Leica still use the M42 mount? If you really like the glass you could just get a $5 adapter off eBay and put it on your Canon/Nikon DSLR (though I hear some lower-end Nikons don't like to meter without a "proper" lens attached).

I can sort of understand the cachet they have with film cameras, but I just can't see any point in buying their digitals at the prices they're asking for.
    Last edited by SquishyPanda; October 9th, 2009 at 18:36.

Haf

I might be wrong, but I think that Leica has never used an M42 mount for its rangefinder cameras. Pre M3 they used a screw in mount called L39 and starting with M3 to present they switched to the M mount (Leica M mount).
    Voigtlander makes some awesome lenses in M mount that are a lot cheaper than their Leitz counterparts.

From where I stand the M9 is worth the price only if you have the cash to go for it right away or you really really need a full frame digital rangefinder. I would love a digital Leica myself for street photography because I easily get spotted with my bulky DSLR, but I simply can't afford it.