Which Nikon?

Thread: Which Nikon?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question Which Nikon?

O.K., I've decided to go w/ a Nikon as my 1st DSLR and now must decide between the D60 and D90. I can get the D60 in a bundle w/2 Nikkor lenses for 699.00 and the D90 w/same exact lenses for 1299.00. Apart from the obious differences such as Megapixel !0.5 v 12.5 , larger display screen and the D90 video capabilities, is it worth the huge price difference? I am an avid photographer and have a vast array of 35 mm SLrs ranghing from CAnon A1,Nikon F3 HP, Pentax 645 etc and love them all. Up till now have been shooting all digital on a canon G9 and need to go DSLR. Would any of my Nikon glass be suitable for these NikonS? O.K, nuff asked whattaya guys think?

Re: Which Nikon?

There are a few differences between the D60 and D90.

The D60 is not compatible with focus-screw-type Nikon lenses, but the D90 is. You'll have to use lenses with a built-in focus motor. If you're starting fresh, its not that big of an issue, but if you have a good assortment of Nikon glass its a good thing to have.

The D60 does not have a DOF preview button, but the D90 does. The D90 has more focus points than the D60 (11 vs 3). It will shoot a faster FPS (4.5fps vs 3)

Those are the biggest differences off the top of my head, there are a few more in the design of the camera itself. e.g. All info is displayed on the back lcd, whereas the D90 will have a small LCD on the top of the body for quick access to information.

If the Nikon glass you already have does not have internal metering, it will not be compatable with either the D60 or D90. Those old lenses are only compatible with the higher end Nikon bodies (like the D300/D400 or better)

Image quality between the two cameras isn't going to be huge. If you're handy with a camera, you can take some GREAT shots with the D60. I'd go with the D90 just to keep using older lenses (that is, if what you already have wouldn't work with the D60)