Photography newcomer

Thread: Photography newcomer

Photography newcomer

Hello all,
    I was interested in getting a camera for tourism, advertising, and up close pictures. I was hoping to get some input on what would be a good camera for this. I am quite new to cameras so please keep that in mind. Thanks.

Re: Photography newcomer

There are so many options. What's your budget? Do you want a compact or DSLR?

Budget is between $1000-1500. If lower thats good too. DSLR. I'm new to cameras. But I think DSLR is what I would like.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

There are many options. Canon, Nikon, Sony, Samsung, Fuji all make entry to mid-level DSLR's around your budget. If you are starting out, I'd suggest getting a good (not great) body and the best lens you can afford. Don't forget a memory card and possibly a case. The saying goes "bodies come and go, but lenses are forever". This means you will graduate through several bodies, but a good lens will last for many years. For a good all-around lens, look into the 18mm - 135mm range. This one lens will cover quite a bit of what you need.
    From there you can keep increasing your knowledge and camera confidence, and you will have taken the first steps into a lifelong hobby.
    Pink Floyd. Dark side of the moon. Side one, track four.
    Gallet Facebook page:
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/GalletChronographs/

Is there a body you recommend? Is there one brand that has a slight edge over the other? Example: Canon vs Nikon. Thanks.

Nikon vs Canon, they both make great cameras. Users usually fall on one side of the fence or the other. Like Dan said bodies come and go but the lenses are forever. A canon or nikon would be a good choice and since they are the two biggies you can pick up some sweet deals on used equipment if you look for it.
    W3
    My Collection:
    Seiko 6309 7049, Seiko 6309 7040, Seiko SKX007, Seiko SKX009,
    Seiko 5 6119C-8083, Seiko 6309-8239