Photography Setup Advice
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By McCarthy
  • 1 Post By Alarien26

Thread: Photography Setup Advice

Photography Setup Advice

I'm a good people photographer but have never photographed watches to sell, so it would be nice to hear from those with more experience what their recommended setup would be.
    I have a Sony R7ii, so would be interested in the lenses and lighting setup mostly. Thanks for any help

Photography Setup Advice

Quote Originally Posted by Panthere View Post
    I'm a good people photographer but have never photographed watches to sell, so it would be nice to hear from those with more experience what their recommended setup would be.
    I have a Sony R7ii, so would be interested in the lenses and lighting setup mostly. Thanks for any help

Well, itís a journey that, short of consumed professionals, takes most of us through a winding road.

My 2 cents are that you have to answer the initial question of what you want the photographs for: artistic and interesting angles of watches... or, showcasing a particular watch to sell.

It sounds obvious but itís not as clear as you progress...

To sell a used watch Iíd say a newer version iPhone camera is more than sufficient, no filters, minimal to no editing and focusing on defects. Big question is wrist shots. For higher end watches itís frowned upon, perhaps with a glove? For more affordable watches a wrist shot is very helpful especially if you specify the wrist diameter so potential buyers can get a perspective.

To showcase a watch you have or are reviewing thereís no question you need a macro lens. A simple light box will do, the more light the better the closer you get. In general fast shutter speeds are great for whole watch pics so you get the nice blur around the watch and prolongued shutter times for a low aperture for all dial shots. Always cool to shoot the logo in the dial, the hands, the markers.