Watch Photography Tips?
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Watch Photography Tips?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Based on what I see in here, I know there are a lot of really fantastic photographers on the forum. I would like to see a thread of commons sense tips on how to produce good images of watches. I'm an average snapshot photographer with a good quality consumer point-and-shoot camera with macro features. I find it really hard to get decent shots that have sufficient detail, aren't too dim or too harsh, etc. Finally found the sticky threads, which need studying. Thanks.
    Last edited by paulie485; September 19th, 2011 at 03:07.

Paul

- -WUS Chinese Forum Design Project Gone but not forgotten: Anonimo Sailor Diver Tissot T-Touch - - Omega X-33 - - Bathys 100 Fathom
    Science Experiment: Pulsar Quartz Alarm (convinced me I will never have a career as a watchmaker)

Count me in - especially I'd like to know how to avoid reflections, except shooting from angle

Re: Watch Photography Tips?

I'm no expert, but some things that I've found to help are:

You first should decide whether you want a real shallow depth of field, or a deep depth of field, and set your aperture accordingly.

On a wrist shot, you need to have a fast enough shutter speed to freeze it, while still having enough light to show it. The sun is too harsh; try a bright, overcast day. As a last resort, you can crank up the ISO to allow a fast enough shutter speed.

On a non-wrist shot, use a tripod, to allow you to use native ISO and a slow shutter speed.

Soft light is the key, and enough of it.
    Mark
    ---------------------------
    Seiko Spring Drive Chronograph SPS003
    Oris TT1 Titan Diver Chronograph 1000M

IWC Portuguese Chronograph 3714-01
    Grand Seiko Spring Drive GMT SBGE001

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Moderator at Large stuffler,mike's Avatar

Post moved.
    Kind regards
    Mike

Instagram @mikestuffler