Watch Pictures

Thread: Watch Pictures

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Watch Pictures

I have a Nikon D40 and would like to know what option people would recommend for watch pictures. I am hoping to find a Macro lense that is not to expensive. I appreciate your assistance. Thank you. Stephen
    https://www.instagram.com/whichwatchsk/

Re: Watch Pictures

I also investigated macro shots using a Nikon D40 and decided against the cost of a macro lense because of the expense. The cheapest alternative (probably not the best, but certainly an easy way to play) I came acros was diopter rings to increas the ability to focus up close. This is less than $US50 so I will probably try them first. If I find I use them a lot I'll sort out an economical macro lense, possibly a Sigma, rather than the pricier Nikon. I'm a beginner at this, would appreciate any pointers.

Stephen, If you have the 18-55mm 3.5-5.6 kit lens, you could start by using that lens first. Unless you want to print large format photos, you could do some cropping to get full macro effect. Ken Rockwell (see his website) - a guy who provides practical reviews, taking into account the buyer's wallet - loves the D40 combined with the 18-55 kit lens. He uses the crop technique.

When you take photos. buy a cheap light tent or use a plastic box. If you use the box or tent outside (making use of natural light), yet can get great photos. Use black or white paper as background. If you take photos inside, make sure you put some lamps on each side and on top. You will find a lot of info on the web how to do it. It takes some time to find the proper setting (I did not take the time to do that yet).