What brand of lenses do you use?

Thread: What brand of lenses do you use?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    GJ

What brand of lenses do you use?

I finally made the step and I am going for the Canon 50D.
    But I have no knowledge about lenses...

Canon makes them, Sigma, Tamron and several other brands..

What brand do you use?
    Kind Regards,
    GJ

It's nice to be important, but it's more important to be nice.....

Re: What brand of lenses do you use?

I use primarily Canon glass, but I also own a Tamron. They are all find lenses in the end. Choose based on what you can afford and the specs you want.

My daily walk around is a Tamron, and it hasn't been replaced because it's weight can't be beat (28-75 f2.8). I can step up to the Canon 24-70 f2.8L, but the weight would be too much and I would barely shoot. I learned from first hand experience stepping up from a 70-200 f4 to the 70-200 f2.8 IS. Even though it's a super nice lens, it's weight is the primary reason I don't use it too often.

GJ

Hey, thanks for your input...
    Kind Regards,
    GJ

It's nice to be important, but it's more important to be nice.....

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Vancouver Island / California (depending on the citizenship I use)

I have a slightly different take - if you're going to buy only a couple lenses, I can't recommend the 70-200 f.2.8 from Canon enough. I'd forego the IS though, the lens is so fast that you can hand hold it anyway in all but the lowest of low light conditions. It is heavy, but it's also not terrible. I've gone on a few day long hikes with the f 2.8 and not felt that it was a bother in the slightest. it's range is perfect, to my mind for nature and wildlife photography, and can be extended to an impressive 140-400 f 5.6 with the 2X converter - which is perfect for subjects like birds.