1960s Steel Revue watch Vintage or Fake?

Poll: Do you think this is a predecessor to the Revue Thommen or just a fake?

Like Tree10Likes
  • 2 Post By Rod Southworth
  • 1 Post By mkws
  • 3 Post By Roland Ranfft
  • 1 Post By Rod Southworth
  • 3 Post By mkws

Thread: 1960s Steel Revue watch Vintage or Fake?

1960s Steel Revue watch Vintage or Fake?

Hi There, I'm new to buying vintage watches but hoping to learn some more... Can anyone help me to identify whether this is the real deal, what should I be looking for in a Vintage Revue and do they hold themselves up against the other mid range luxury watchmakers?

Name:  Revue3.jpg
Views: 284
Size:  37.9 KBName:  Revue1.jpg
Views: 270
Size:  59.2 KBName:  Revue2.jpg
Views: 276
Size:  97.9 KB

Thanks for any expertise you can offer.
    busmatt and bobbee like this.

Re: 1960s Steel Revue watch Vintage or Fake?

First of all, what you should look for is a listing with a picture of the movement. Without it, it's hard to say anything. On the outside, it looks legit- it even has the signed crown. I have a bit of a hard time telling if it's a redial or a perfectly original dial in a great condition. The "Revue" inscription looks strange, but then again, I have seen really little Revue watches from the 60s- from the 40s and 50s yes, but I haven't really taken any interest in their later models.
    Rod Southworth likes this.
    I have great faith in fools; self-confidence my friends call it.
    Edgar Allan Poe

If liberty means anything at all, it means the right to tell people what they do not want to hear.
    George Orwell

(...)but that's what mankind is like: they only prize what they no longer possess.
    Erich Maria Remarque

For any inquiries regarding vintage Doxa watches, please read the highlighted text in my vintage Doxa thread. Sorry, but I will not respond to PMs on the matter.

Hi Rod,

if you buy a watch, you can (with some luck) only be confident that you get what you see.