Like Tree9Likes
  • 2 Post By demonfinder
  • 4 Post By bubba48
  • 1 Post By trim
  • 1 Post By KiwiKev
  • 1 Post By trim

Thread: 30 mm Roamer 1950s? Adult or Boys

30 mm Roamer 1950s? Adult or Boys

Here's my latest acquisition. To me it looks like the sort of 17 Jewel, sweep second hand watch Roamer introduced in 1944 but from wnat I can see on roamer-watches.info they all tend to have 32 or 33 mm diameter cases and this is a little smaller at 30 mm.

Could it have been intended for boys?

I'm also curious about the date I thought at first it might be from the 40s but now I think the lugs look a little later. And I think the word "shockproof' dates it later.

Could it be from somewhere in the 50s?

I've provided pictures but here are the details

On the front:

Roamer
    Shockproof
    17 Jewels

On the back

Roamer
    Waterproof
    Stainless Steel Back

Patent Numbers

Though I'm new to this I know Brevete isn't the model name!

On the crown:

RW surmounted by four dots

I've included a picture showing it next to a more opulent 32 mm Roamer from the early 60s to show the scale

Pictures:

Name:  Dial.jpg
Views: 51
Size:  761.2 KBName:  Oblique Cropped.jpg
Views: 52
Size:  1.13 MBName:  This Back Cropped.jpg
Views: 51
Size:  396.7 KBName:  Crown Close Up.jpg
Views: 61
Size:  126.4 KBName:  Comparison.jpg
Views: 74
Size:  807.6 KB

Re: 30 mm Roamer 1950s? Adult or Boys

Hi KiwiKev,
    I think your Roamer is most likely a mans watch -but I have seen the odd Roamer junior sizes occassionally.
    It most likely has one of their smaller late 1930`s /early `40`s calibres such as an MST 352 or poss MST 371 inside.
    The crown is a later one from the 1950`s.
    The logo on the dial suggests late `30`s (before they changed to the underlined version_ but I think that fellow member Trim`s excellent vintage Roamer website gives the waterproof case introduction date as around 1941.